Can I see your ID?

ID check

On my first trip to the ‘liquor store’ back in August, I was surprised to be asked for ID to show that I was over 21. I was momentarily flattered until my roommate set me straight by explaining that by law they have to ask everyone for ID. In the weeks since, I have been asked a number of times for my ID, both here and in NYC, and I have learned enough not to take this as a compliment.  But last night this ritual had a different outcome.

I was out to dinner with two friends from my ‘program’* both radiating the stunning beauty of girls in their mid-20s.  They know I am older, but we don’t really talk about it. When we came to order our drinks the conversation went like this:

Friend 1:        I’ll have a glass of Riesling please.

Waitress:        Can I see your ID please?

(Friend hands her ID over, it is examined and returned)

Me:                  I’ll have a glass of Chardonnay please.

Waitress:        Great.

(Takes menus from us and walks off).

Ouch!

*Over here they call your uni course a ‘program’. As in “What program are you studying?”

One thought on “Can I see your ID?

  1. Pingback: Match Report: Homecoming Football Game | Graduate Admissions

Any questions?

