Fall Foliage Photo Essay

IMG_2545

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.”

William Cullen Bryant

I first noticed myself doing it in September, but it wasn’t until October that the habit really took hold. I started to walk around campus with my phone in my pocket, ready to slip it out and take photos at any given moment. The colour palette of the landscape was changing daily. Green… yellows… orange…red… grey. Click, click, clickitty-click.

IMG_2315

I found myself wandering off the path to kick my feet through the leaves like a school kid.

 IMG_2593

 I became drawn to the ‘shadow’ that the leaves create underneath the tree from which they fall.

 IMG_2339

IMG_2614

 

One day I was driving on a narrow and winding road, through the woods, colours in full bloom, the sun setting in the distance, and leaves were drifting across the bonnet of my car. One even stuck on the windshield before flicking off. I felt like I was in the opening credits of a movie.

IMG_2628

When I saw yet another tree I had been watching shed its final leaves the sadness hit me unexpectedly.

IMG_2633

 

I am scared about the winter that lies ahead. Everything will be grey, and bare, and dark and cold.

IMG_2629

3 thoughts on “Fall Foliage Photo Essay

Any questions?

